24 February 2009

delicious

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket




22 February 2009

diagrams

Photobucket




16 February 2009

windbreaker

The month of February has, thus far, been characterized by lots of rain. Unlike most of the year, the norm this month is clouds, rain, and chill punctuated by the odd day of sun. It's very strange, considering I live in Southern California. But it is February, and strange things happen in February (and California is a strange state). This may be the most rain the region gets for months so I try to remember that the earth is so happy for it.

I've kind of been working, but I've also been doing things like lifting and hiking and reading blogs and downloading music. Here's a list of new things I've found that are distracting me from finishing my last semester of college:

  • Julia's and Danielle's fashion blog Oh My God Where Did You Get That?
  • The blog that inspired OMGWDYGT? by Mindy Kaling: Things I Bought That I Love.
  • The album Plans by Death Cab For Cutie. I have like all their other ones; I can't believe I've lived for years without it.
  • Sex blogs such as Beautiful, depraved. NSFW. At all.
  • Itsonlythewind. I get the tumblr concept but I wish it were easier to see groups of items, such as all the music or photos posted in the month of December. The fact that there's no central organizing system makes tumblr a bit too hipster for me. But I still love this blog. Stimulate your senses.
  • Gala Darling. It's a lot of pink and exclamation marks and hearts, but it makes me smile.
  • Daily OM Astrology. I like these for being calm, explanatory and inspirational.
  • Sextrology. This book is fantastic. I don't care what you think about astrology, this book is a riot.
  • The album The Understanding by Royksopp. I can work to this and not get distracted by the words... because there are not a lot of them.
  • I can't pinpoint why exactly I like this. But it's fantastic.
  • Feeling too cool for school? Here's some chic geek.
  • Salvia is a legal hallucinogen that makes you laugh uncontrollably and enter a new universe for a few minutes. Why wouldn't you want to try this? If more people did natural drugs once in a while I think the world would be a better place.
  • "What, though, about male desire? I recall being given, by an old girlfriend, a spoof picture of two control panels, supposedly showing what it took to turn men and women on. The panel marked "Women" was like the flight deck of a 747, full of knobs to be twiddled, valves and minute calibrations of this and that. The panel marked "Men" was just an On/Off switch. Is that how women see us?
    Women would be amazed if they knew what men desire about them. Yes, of course, they want to see women naked and supine and melting, but male desire is far more readily stimulated by what the oblique glance discovers: the parted lips, the micron of eyelash which the mascara brush missed, the changing angle and shadow of cleavage, the bra-strap alternately displayed and covered up, the ripe-camembert plumpness at the edge of hips. There is, inside every adult man, a relentless Peeping Tom, a perennial 14-year-old boy, still amazed by the phenomenon of women on display, flagging their sexuality, their availability, with every square inch of visible flesh, clothing, make-up and curve. [ . . . ]
    We desire the personality that we discern in the walk, the clothes, the laugh... We look, and sigh, and wish to do certain things to her, first urgently, then luxuriantly, and keep doing it indefinitely; but we also hunger to have her do certain things to us, unimaginable though it may seem - we want her to want us. We don't just want her surrender, like a slave captured in battle; we want her approbation, her adoration; we want to enchant her to desire us back. For, no matter how humble we feel before the dizzying fact of female beauty, men are just as narcissistic as women."
    -John Walsh




    06 February 2009

    raindrops

    Photobucket