24 May 2009

relativity and electromagnetism

Photobucket

Things I Love Saturday

  • Oakland and Berkeley and San Francisco. Apart from the parking situation, I love this place. I've spent this week at Kevin's house hanging out and killing time before work at MLC begins on June 1st. Tomorrow I drive down to LA to stay at Eva's house until the 30th.
  • Sleeping until... we feel like getting up. Staying up until 5am.
  • Graduating! Right, kind of forgot that happened last weekend.
  • Seeing the whole fam together. Sadly, it doesn't happen too often these days.
  • Packing my life into two cars. My entire life fits in two cars. And at least one-third of that is dispensible. I love the spring cleaning that accompanies moving out.
  • Multigrain cheerios and cranberry juice.




    15 May 2009

    rock and ice

    Photobucket

    Things I Love Friday

  • Spending the entire week doing only what I want. This has included sleeping, spooning, cuddling, reading, laughing, and eating. Especially while everyone else has had to study. Hahahaha, we win.
  • Making an audacious start on my post-college reading life: I finished Atonement and On Chesil Beach, both by Ian McEwan. I randomly pulled from the new fiction shelf at the Claremont library Indignation by Philip Roth and Serve The People! by Yan Lianke purely for their sweet jacket design and cover blurb. Reading for fun is so much fun!
  • Going to the beach, again, but early, like 7am. We had stayed up talking all night by accident, and standing in the ocean and then having the most delicious breakfast at Canters seemed like a great idea. Followed by a return to bed from 10am to 3pm.
  • Having warm feelings about Los Angeles. I really might live here - somewhere here - this fall. If I'm not in London, or travelling, or...
  • Getting my hair colored dark brown with a hint of auburn shimmer. It was the last time I'll see my beloved stylist Dianna for a while. Sad.
  • Being my own person entirely. Doing only what I want. Embracing complete autonomy and responsibility. Living my life the way I see fit. Loving the person I am, and growing into.
  • Getting ready to see the fam tomorrow, graduating on Sunday, and moving out into the real world on Monday. Here it comes!




    07 May 2009

    i'm wide awake now

    Photobucket

    Things I Love Thursday

  • Being done with college! Yesterday was my last day - I had a presentation, a paper due, and one final class to attend. It was rather anticlimactic, but at 4pm I walked back to my room with a headache and a smile. It is the exhilarating feeling of school being out for summer... except this time its forever.
  • Being chosen by my thesis reader to present my thesis at Capstone Day (which was yesterday). Clearly my thesis was better than I thought... I am far too hard on myself. And having my name and abstract printed in a booklet seemed quite official... pretty cool!
  • Having ten days to do whatever I want! I'm still kind of in shock that it is all over.
  • Returning the 48 books that had been stacked against my wall since September. I didn't use most of them, but it was still thrilling to slide them into the deposit box, never to be seen by me ever again. And paying my final Honnold library fine. Next step: recycling the contents of my two thesis binders. I am loving this shedding/closure process.
  • Cinco de Mayo! Mudd had the best lunch ever. Quesadillas, tamales, flautas... mmmmm. I love Mexican food.
  • Music of the week: Third Eye Blind, Muse, Gnarls Barkley, Atmosphere, Spoon