28 February 2010

one world

I'm going to miss the Olympics. Both Summer and Winter Games are fun, but there's something about the surge of patriotism and sportsmanship in the middle of winter that definitely rocks my world. I keep thinking that the next time the Winter Games are on I will be 26. Twenty SIX.

And tomorrow is March. MARCH!

P.S. That was a bomb hockey game between USA and Canada. Nail biting, screaming, heartbeat skipping. I love good hockey.




18 February 2010

lash boosting serum

My roommate decided to give up the Internet for Lent. Not that she's religious, but the spirit of reflection and sacrifice is as good as any to re-evaluate your habits. I just wrote six postcards out of the blue, and it felt better than almost anything else I've done today. I'm watching the Olympics on the one free channel we pick up with our antenna - NBC - and I was instantly put off by the relentless commercial breaks and fake families and guilt tripping and the endless loops of products we don't need. I think I'm becoming more old-fashioned the older I get.




09 February 2010

things

I don't think I'm materialistic, but I have to admit I really like things. I feel safe with things, I feel secure with things, I feel defined by the things I choose. Is that so bad? I think it says more about who we are than it does about the thing itself. Try as I would like to be all zen and spiritual and grounded, I'm not. One thing I've been learning about myself in the last year or so is that for the most part, I'm everything I thought I wasn't: emotional, chaotic, irrational, indecisive. And I've also been learning that being all of that is okay. For someone who went to a feminist womens' college this is totally un-PC, but I am quite a stereotypical woman. Think of that what you will, but I feel more and more that while there are different flavors of women, we are all still women. And we are fundamentally, biologically and mentally different than men. And that is also okay. It's better than okay, it's great. Anyway, it has also been interesting to see specific qualities come out since I've been in a relationship. Anyway, back to things. I just went to the library and acquired lots of books. I love that. Second, I subscribed to the New Yorker and to Bitch. Politics, news, feminism, culture. I'm psyched. Thirdly, I am in the process of finding some evening classes to sign up for. In the last few days I have been feeling a great desire to nest. I'm finally settled in my understanding of myself living in Los Angeles; now I want to match my interpretation to reality. I need some local friends, post-college friends if you will, and while I'm not sure how this happens I'm surely going to go out and try. I also want to learn something new and have one or two weekly commitments. So, I think I'm going to sign up for one or more of the following: letterpress, Photoshop, ceramics, adult choir, sewing, cooking, and writing. I haven't yet found multi-week options for the latter half - mostly one-three-hour-class deals, but I'm still looking. And fourthly, I joined a gym a while back and am still in the process of getting into a routine, especially with the parking situation at the apartment. But that is something to do on weeknights also. Despite being a working woman now, I kinda feel like school is beginning and I'm getting my schedule and textbooks and finding my way around campus again... the plumping of one's semester with things, commitments, responsibilities, engagements, a calendar to fill. Not that I was a resume packer in college - hardly - but the idea of filling my life with things is quite appealing to me these days. And so begins 2010 for me, with an emphasis on nesting... and things.




01 February 2010

rain is falling looks like love

Fun fun fun weekend! Long Beach aquarium (jellyfish, sea lions, walk by the pier at sunset), Trader Joes, pizza making, Coraline, back to Claremont on Sunday for brunch at Mudd, gift shopping (birthday present for my sister - I think she's going to love what I got her!), haircut (I'm growing out my hair and it's taking forever, and I'm sad I lost a bit of length on my hair as she textured it, but I'm hoping it will be beneficial for the overall shape of my hair as it grows in the long run...), reading in the Village, The Lovely Bones, Texas Hold 'Em poker with Kevin and his friends (I "schooled all the guys"!), and an evening nap with K before he started work for the night, and then back to EP (Echo Park) to catch up with my roommate.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket