17 March 2010

spring

Seriously, it already feels like summer. This week, it has been bombastically sunny and 80 degrees. Coupled with daylight savings on Sunday, I now wear sunglasses on my drive home from work, open all the windows and change into a sundress, and watch the sunset at 7:30pm. I still consider myself an autumn girl - I live for the first sigh of crisp air after a bloated season of heat - but there is something about the first signs of warmth that makes me giddy. I can sleep with my window open and wake up to birds singing outside by the jasmine bush. And no more tights or boots to work! Although, my office is on the first floor of a well-built, well-insulated 1930s building so despite having no heat or A/C it is still cold in there, even when it's basically summer outside. So I still bring my wool coat ever day. Blasphemy!

I think summer weather makes everyone a bit more agreeable. And Los Angeles was made for warmth. Everything here is prettier when seen under sun rays.