30 January 2008

authority

"The American Dental Association says that ice-chewing can damage teeth. 'People have the right to do things that may hurt them,' says Matt Messina, a dentist in Cleveland and spokesman for the association. 'If something breaks, we'll fix it.'"

Chew This Over: Munchable Ice Sells Like Hot Cakes, WSJ 1/30/08.

Really? Do we really have the right to do things that harm ourselves? Sadly, I don't think our government believes in this.




28 January 2008

wishing

It's almost February (what?), so I guess I should update.

I'm back at school and loving it. All of it. Classes are so far so great (Political Economy, Los Angeles Politics, Education Politics and Policy, and French). My friends are all alive and kicking around campus with me with the exception of one who is alive and kicking abroad in London and whom I miss terribly. I'm feeling very social these days (I joke that I drink every other semester) so I'm spending my weekends hanging out with Eva and Keri and Keri's CMC boyfriend and his CMC friends. For Spring Break I'm going skiing in Utah with the family. I've found a handful of cool-looking summer internships related to urban planning... in LA, San Francisco and New York. I'd prefer to be on the West Coast this summer, so I hope that somehow my friends and I can get internships in the same city so we can live together and make magic. On Mondays and Wednesdays I have class through lunch, so afterwards in my room I make the most amazing simple salad: good quality lettuce, grape tomatoes, cucumber, and goat cheese drizzled with balsamic dressing. The persistent rain that has been drenching Southern California for the last week has finally stopped and here comes the sun, the flip flops and the skirts. Speaking of skirts, I found SkirtSpot yesterday... need I say more? Those handbags that I ordered arrived the other day and they are all sweet... especially the big satchel one. My latest bloodwork came back normal. I've been flossing every night. I found a facial moisturizer with SPF that doesn't clog my pores. Obama is rocking the country right now and I hope he continues to do so... wouldn't it be great if he ends up actually making it through? I'm currently drinking delicious coffee from beans I just ground myself. And the endorphins from my workouts are like crack. Basically fantasticness all around.




19 January 2008

irresistible

Once in a while I'll go on a relatively large online shopping spree. It's not unrestrained, and I research a lot before I buy anything, and put many things in my shopping cart and then compare them and delete some, but since it's unusual for me to buy... really, much of anything it's still quite thrilling. I have a feeling that 2008 is the year I "become a woman," so to speak, so I need to start caring about myself and making thoughtful purchases that help me become who I want to be.

Tonight I decided I absolutely had to find another handbag. Danielle gave me a beautiful red one a few years ago which I adore, so I decided to buy another Wilsons Leather winner... or four.

Photobucket

An everyday satchel: large enough for a wallet, a book and other little things.

Photobucket

A mini for the evening... cute!

Photobucket

The shoulder strap detaches, so I'll use this as a clutch. The flower thing kind of works for me, in a strange way. And if I end up trimming those hanging pieces, so be it.

Photobucket

And a wallet, since it's time I got a new one.

I also ordered some new clothes from the Gap and I bought some Michael Buble (Call Me Irresponsible) and some awesome big band/swing music on iTunes. Wow. So much stuff! It's kinda fun.

I drive back to school tomorrow, and I've had a really great last week (well, five days) in Scottsdale. So that rocks.




16 January 2008

day

Woke up in Tahoe.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Drove to Sacramento, and flew out over the Sierra Nevadas...

Photobucket

and into Southern California.


Photobucket
Photobucket

Then out and over the Sonoran Desert...

Photobucket

Photobucket

over the Colorado River...

Photobucket
Photobucket

and into Phoenix.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket




10 January 2008

thirty

Photobucket

Highlights of the past twenty days:

  • Road trip to Bakersfield and Los Angeles
  • Reading Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
  • Sleeping in. Embarassingly late.
  • Movies:
    Sweeney Todd
    Mr. Woodcock
    Secretary
    Days of Heaven
    All The Real Girls
    The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
    Me and You and Everyone We Know
    Juno
    Eyes Wide Shut
    Grizzly Man (partial)
    American Beauty
    There Will Be Blood
  • Oh, and making this delicious recipe - Red Lentil Soup with Lemon - from page two of the New York Times Dining section yesterday

    Coming up in the next ten days

  • Skiing with friends at Lake Tahoe
  • Back to school!