10 September 2008

teekayo

So I'm back at school and settled in. My room is freaking sweet, its way bigger than my last few singles and its on the second floor with a nice view of a courtyard. I ordered new posters last week which look good on the walls, and I sleep like a rock in my bed now that I bought plywood boards from Home Depot to put over the old, sinking frame. I finally have enough space to put in the corner my awesome round nest chair from Ikea, which the Bells are bringing over in a few weeks. So room = fab.

I'm taking pretty cool classes: The History of Cities, Constitutional Law, Gender Race and Class, Voting, Campaigns and Elections, and Senior Seminar... as well as the daunting prospect of writing a 70+ page thesis by May.

I'm swimming again and I am ecstatic. I never feel so good working out as when I'm in the pool. Also, I've started swimming in Scripps' beautiful pool since their hours and my schedule work harmoniously together this year, so I don't need to drive to the LA Fitness to swim anymore. I did like the variety of people there, but its nice here to walk and be in the water in five minutes. The most exciting swimming news of my life is I bought a waterproof iPod shuffle from SwimMan. It is the coolest thing ever. I'm convinced that I go harder and longer when I'm listening to good music than when all I've got is my thoughts and the blue strip on the bottom of the pool. I'm also dedicated to lifting weights this semester. It is so good for you and there's no reason not to do it, and you don't need to get sweaty and gross and you get stronger and fitter and look hotter. Scripps just opened a brand new athletic facility that is unbelievable considering the sorry state of our old gym, so there are new machines and weights and its open almost 24 hours a day. I'm excited to see where I go with exercise and fitness this year.

My friends are great. I love them.

That's about it. I turn 21 in just under two months, on the same day as the presidential election. It will either be fantastic or miserable, but at least we won't find out until the day's almost over.