29 October 2008

inked

The constellation Scorpius:

Photobucket

The tattoo (draped over right shoulder/back: the photo is at an odd angle):

Photobucket

Photobucket

Incognito Tattoo, Pasadena.




26 October 2008

booyah

Photobucket

Doesn't this look so good?!

Photobucket

After getting owned in the gym by free weights (and thoroughly enjoying it), this tasted un.be.lievable.

frozen berries, macadamia nuts, vanilla protein powder, greens+ supplement, cottage cheese, water, ice cubes.




12 October 2008

predicate

I have hundreds of pages of books and articles to read for thesis. They are stacked on my dresser, reminding me every day that I have barely even started. I'm writing about Arizona - water management - the Central Arizona Project - urban coalitions - urban sprawl. Something like that.

Photobucket

I have midterms this week: one tomorrow, one Thursday. Honestly, they shouldn't be bad, I just have to put in a bit of time to prepare. But I'm not really into much of anything right now except figuring out thesis, and today I've been in a very non-college mood in general (I want to cook delicious meals and take beautiful pictures and live in Seattle or Chicago or Vancouver and wear scarves and things).

Photobucket

But its cool and sunny and a Sunday, and I'm going home on Thursday for a few days and showing my two best friends around Scottsdale, and I really can't wait. I just need a break.

Photobucket

I've been having lots of strange dreams lately. And not always good-strange. Sometimes disconcerting-strange. I've been taking naps more than usual these last few weeks, since I'm not getting enough sleep and I'm working hard basically all the time, which is rare for me.

Photobucket

I've never worked this hard in school ever, probably. Also, I'm weight lifting pretty hardcore now and I guess that's sapping my energy more than I give it credit for.

Photobucket

I'm getting information overload with everything happening in the country lately. Its hard to avoid, but I'm trying since the only thing that happens to me is I get anxious and frustrated, and that's no way to be. Think global, live local.

Photobucket

All in all it is just a strange time.

Photobucket




03 October 2008

debates

Sarah Palin scares the shit out of me.

I'm currently optimistic that Obama will win (but if he doesn't I'm leaving the country, not kidding. I have a British passport).

And I really liked Joe Biden.

McCain is whack.

This election sometimes makes American politics seem like a joke. And that's coming from a Politics major.




01 October 2008

mercury

All I can say is that it is 100 degrees today.

As it has been for the last four days.

My room has no air conditioning, and is probably hovering around 80-85 degrees all the time.

Gah!

In better news, the temperature should drop to the 80s tomorrow, and I hope we never see another temperature reading this year that begins with 1. Or 9 for that matter.

I basically have a lot of work, all the time. Thesis is like a huge independent study project, which I should be working on whenever I'm not doing homework. I'm writing about Arizona water politics and policy which is really interesting, and I have millions of pages of books and journal articles to read, so its not boring... it's just a lot, all the time. First draft of chapter one due in... one month.

See you then -