10 July 2011

fish

I just made the most delicious summer salad.

You must try it.

It's a variation of one of my regular Greek salads - lettuce, tomato, cucumber, olives, feta and dressing... but with a twist.

It features sardines.

They make the New York Times' list The 11 Best Foods You Aren't Eating.

Sardines are nutritional heavyweights: high in omega-3 fatty acids (as opposed to omega 6s, which we eat far too many of, relative to 3s), and a great source of protein, B12, and selenium. And, since they are low on the food chain, sardines contain less mercury than most fish.

Sardines are also considered a Super Green Choice by the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the Blue Ocean Institute, due to the fact that they are a relatively abundant species and the harvesting method used for sardines does minimal damage to habitat and wildlife.

I bought the skinless, boneless, canned ones packed in water, but they also come packed in olive oil, or you can buy them fresh. Since for some reason I find seafood a harder protein source to plan meals for, I prefer to make it easy on myself. I rarely buy fresh fish, preferring frozen whole pieces (arctic char - the kind from Trader Joes tastes like salmon, is half the price, and is another Best Choice - shrimp, scallops) or canned (dolphin-safe tuna, although I need to educate myself more on its other issues). I also choose fish that is relatively inexpensive. I love salmon, but don't buy it because I would only want it wild and sustainable, and that costs $20+/pound.

I have never eaten sardines in my life, but I was inspired when I saw them on the shelf at the uber-healthy and adorable little health food store in Pasadena where I buy raw milk and bulk oats, beans, and nuts. So, when I was there a a few weeks ago, I spontaneously bought a can of sardines. Then yesterday I bought a different brand (this is apparently how I operate) and might I add, a can of wild-caught sardines cost $2.75 (and feeds one person). Re-inspired to find a good recipe for them, thus introducing them as a permanent staple in my cooking repertoire, I headed to Apartment Therapy's cooking subsite, The Kitchn. I searched for "sardines" and found multiple articles with lots of useful comments underneath. The recipe below was found here.

(Here is another great list of things to do with sardines, from Chow.)


Sardine Salad with Chickpeas and Feta (adapted for one)

1 can sardine fillets
2 tbsp olive oil
2 teaspoons flour
2 teaspoons cornmeal (can sub flour)
1/2 tsp salt
fresh cracked black pepper
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp paprika

Chickpeas (however many you like)
Cucumber, diced
Grape tomatoes, sliced in half
Lettuce, torn
Olives
Feta, crumbled or chopped
Zest and juice of half a lemon

In a small bowl, mix together the flour, cornmeal, salt, pepper, cumin, paprika and cayenne. Set aside.

Arrange lettuce on a plate.

In a medium bowl stir together chickpeas, cucumber, feta, olives, lemon zest and juice, and 1 tablespoon of the olive oil, to marinate for a few minutes.

Dredge sardines through flour mixture, coating evenly all sides. Heat one tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat in a pan. When oil is hot, carefully lay in sardines. Sizzle fish in oil for about 30 seconds on each side, then transfer to plate.

Spread marinating veggies on top of lettuce, and sprinkle with sardine fillets.

Notes: I forgot the chickpeas, and it was still delish. Olives can be optional. Sorry for no picture; it looked too delicious to wait.